Student Association of Global Affairs

Our Mission

The purpose of the Student Association of Global Affairs (SAGA) is to enhance the learning environment for graduate students by facilitating and promoting communication and cooperation among and between Global Affairs graduate students, the Division of Global Affairs (DGA), faculty and staff affiliated with DGA, the greater Rutgers University academic community, and practitioners in the field.

Additionally, the SAGA executive board is responsible for creating a community for DGA students on campus, hosting social events such as the international food festival or academic and career building events like workshops on networking or CV and resume writing. The SAGA board also organizes the annual Global Affairs Conference which has attracted attendance from national and international students over the recent years. 

Examples of Past SAGA Events:

  • Thanksgiving Potluck 
  • Professional Development Series Workshops 
  • Game Night for DGA Students
  • Instagram Series for Black History Month and Women's History Month
  • International Food Festival
  • Welcome Back Mixer
  • Global Affairs Colloquium 
  • Election Watch Party 

Interested in joining SAGA or talking to one of the SAGA members? Shoot them an email at or check out our Facebook page!

2016-2017 Executive Board:

Yvan Ilunga President; Sabrina Axster Vice President; Jessia Mulcahy-Miller Secretary; Sean Mgauire Treasure; Joshua Shaw & Shelby Moulton Masters Student Representartives; Lillian Hussong Doctoral Student Representative

2015-2016 Executive Board:

Kathryn Duffy President Kelsey Lizotte Vice President Sara Yllescas Secretary Meghan Sullivan Treasurer Mohammad Barakat Masters Student Representatives Iuliia Kononenko Doctoral Student Representative

2014-2015 Executive Board:

Matthew Holly President Eltion Meka Vice President Kelsey Lizotte Secretary Kathryn Duffy-Jaeger Treasurer Marc Lane Masters Student Representatives P.J. Blount Doctoral Student Representative  

2013-2014 Executive Board:

Jeff Benvenuto President Debbie Morrison Vice President Yiannis Floropoulos Secretary P.J. Blount Treasurer Claudia Casal Masters Student Representative Chika Okoye Doctoral Student Representative  

2012-2013 Executive Board:

Debbie Morrison President Jeff Benvenuto Vice President Erika Turner Secretary Chika Okoye Treasurer Katherine Mauro Masters Student Representative Monica Alava Doctoral Student Representative  

2011-2012 Executive Board:

Simone Bridgemohan President Aida Figueroa Vice President Sara Brandsema Secretary John D. Handal Treasurer Taimur Ahmed Masters Student Representative John Ottomanelli Doctoral Student Representative  

Share this: